20150529_221612

Blueberry Scones with Coconut Flour

I was recently asked to recreate a recipe using coconut flour. I hadn’t ever heard of coconut flour until I was introduced to it by Nuts.com, but I was instantly intrigued because I already knew all the great benefits of coconuts. Coconut flour is gluten and wheat-free, high in fiber, protein, and healthy fats, and it doesn’t spike your blood sugar like grain-based flours do. I have also been delving into the world of coconut – coconut oil spray, coconut butter, coconut coffee, and have been pleasantly surprised but how good this stuff is, so this request just made sense to me. After doing some research, I decided to purchase Anthony’s Coconut Flour from Amazon (here). While waiting for it to arrive, I then had to think about what recipe I could use it for.  My research showed that coconut flour absorbs more liquid than regular flour, and that I wouldn’t be able to substitute it 1:1. I decided to use it on my all-time favorite blueberry scone recipe (here), and after a trial and error round, I was able to create some delicious blueberry scones that were guilt-free! So, I present to you…

Blueberry Scones with Coconut Flour

20150529_203847

Ingredients:
-1 1/2 cups coconut flour
-1 tablespoon baking powder
-1/4 teaspoon salt
-2 tablespoons sugar
-5 tablespoons unsalted butter
-1 1/4 cups fresh blueberries, washed, and drained
-1 1/4 cup heavy cream

Directions:
Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.

Sift together flour, baking powder, salt, and sugar. Crush in butter (should be cold) until you get breadcrumb-like texture. Add in your drained fresh blueberries carefully so that you don’t mash any of them. Stir in heavy cream until everything is just combined.

Shape the scones into desired shape, I did round flat discs, and place them on a cookie sheet (I lined mine with a silpat). This is optional, but you can brush the tops of the scones with leftover heavy cream, which is what I did below. Then bake them in the oven for around 15 minutes, but keep an eye on them. When they turn golden brown, they’re done!

In my first trial, I only used 1 cup heavy cream for all the above ingredients, and my scones broke apart in the oven and crumbled in my hands. I was a little disheartened, but I knew that was a risk, especially since this recipe doesn’t have any eggs to act as a binder. You can see below the dough was very dry before baking, and the scones crumbled in my hands.

20150529_20543020150529_213914On my second run, I added more heavy cream and lowered the baking temperature from 400 to 375. You can see below that the dough was much more moist, but it was still relatively dry, which is how a scone dough should be like.

20150529_21352320150529_213642

20150529_21580920150529_22100020150529_221612The results were much better the second time around. These scones are still relatively fragile, but they were perfectly flaky and almost melts in your mouth because of how the coconut flour absorbs all the liquid. I love this recipe because it’s not too sweet. Now I love it even more because the coconut flour adds an amazing amount of health benefits to it, making it the perfect breakfast item.

If you’re interested in learning more about the awesome benefits of coconut flour, its nutrition facts, as well as other grain-based flour alternatives, Nuts.com has some great information as well as other recipes from the community using nut flours that sound delicious. Don’t be surprised if you see a rendition of one of those recipes by me! You can check out their coconut flour page here.

~Nicole

Leave a Reply

