Morimoto Napa – Napa, California

Morimoto Napa
610 Main Street
Napa, California 94559
http://morimotonapa.com
Morimoto - Napa

20150329_112611

I bought a LivingSocial deal for a six course omakase lunch at Morimoto Napa for my boyfriend’s birthday; the deal ran me $150.00. I easily made reservations on OpenTable and was more than excited to try out this restaurant. I grew up watching the original Iron Chef series as well as Iron Chef America, and Morimoto has always been my favorite iron chef, ask anyone who knows me! I even have a stuffed penguin named after him. His style of cooking is so clean and simple, yet beautifully artistic and (now I know) beyond delicious. I was ecstatic that this deal came up so that I could finally try his cuisine and fulfill one of my life-long desires!

The style of the restaurant is modern with traditional elements, providing a laid back atmosphere that is perfect in Napa. The back patio of the restaurant overlooks the Napa river for a beautiful view. It wasn’t too noisy and the people walking by weren’t too much of a distraction.

And of course, I was not disappointed with the omakase lunch…

20150329_113230

20150329_113339

Course 1: Toro tartare served with “sauces”- puffed rice pieces, wasabi, avocado, sour cream, nori paste, and chives. Served with yuzu dipping sauce and yamamomo (Japanese mountain peach) to cleanse your palate afterwards. Very fun to eat and explore all the different flavor combinations. Complimentary sparkling champagne was also served.

20150329_114402_Richtone(HDR)

Course 2: Wagyu beef carpaccio with yuzu soy, sesame oil, ginger and sweet garlic. This was probably my favorite dish, it melted in my mouth and I loved the slightly citrus acidic taste with the rich nutty sesame oil and hints of ginger and garlic.

20150329_115418_Richtone(HDR)20150329_115831_Richtone(HDR)

Course 3: Clam miso soup in white miso broth and manila clams. This soup was just okay to me, nothing too special.

20150329_120327_Richtone(HDR)20150329_120441_Richtone(HDR)

Palate cleanser: Cucumber mint mochi. Although it was a small piece, it was packed with subtle flavors that refreshed my mouth. I could eat 100 more of these.

20150329_121025_Richtone(HDR)20150329_121053_Richtone(HDR)

Course 4: Assorted nigiri. The salmon was my favorite, it was perfectly fatty! The fish was beyond fresh and I loved the smaller rice portion in comparison to fish.

20150329_121308_Richtone(HDR)

Course 5: Alaskan Halibut with thai curry, fried banana, mussels, and fiddlehead fern. Morimoto pork chop and applesauce served with kurobuta pork, kimchi, bacon, and ginger apple puree. I enjoyed the pork more than the fish since it was so rich and charred beautifully. The fish was cooked to perfection, still juicy and tender in the middle. Both dishes were very good and the portion size was just the right amount, considering we had 5 other courses already.

20150329_122457_Richtone(HDR)20150329_122436_Richtone(HDR)

Course 6: I was a little taken aback when the dessert was presented to me, I wasn’t too sure what it was. The bottom layer was  a white chocolate pudding with tapioca, followed by a layer of mango pop rocks, a coconut foam/meringue, fresh mango sorbet, and sprinkled with toasted coconut flakes. The pop rocks were probably the best part about this dessert, it was a little strange but awesome at the same time. The mango sorbet was also delicious and packed with mango flavor.

20150329_124335_Richtone(HDR)

I can’t wait to come back to this place, I was more than impressed by all the food and have (maybe) justified my lifelong obsession with Morimoto. The next step now would be to try some of his other restaurants!

~Nicole

Leave a Reply

