20150328_124555-2

Julienne – San Marino

Recently my mom’s been asking me about a number of different brunch places that she’s recently come across by recommendation. I don’t eat brunch that often, simply because I don’t always have the time to and also because I’m kind of strange when it comes to breakfast or lunch. I often eat non-breakfast food for breakfast (ex: chimichangas and Marie Calendar chicken pot pies). So, it’s always a treat when we do go out to brunch. I honestly hadn’t heard of Julienne before, but was really intrigued when I perused the menu prior to eating there. It is on the pricier side, so for a student like me, I don’t recommend making it a habit to come here every weekend. Lucky for me, my parents decided to take their staff out for a company brunch and I got to tag along.

Julienne offers French-style cuisine. It has a bistro feel with a lot of outdoor seating and indoor seating, along with a private room, which is used for small parties or gatherings. There were 9 of us for brunch, so there was a bit of a wait, at least 45 minutes or so. Adjoined to the establishment, Juliennes has a take out area, with pastries, salads, sandwiches, and bottles of wine to go.

Easter Themed: little packages of cookies, candies, unique soaps, and hand creams.

I love the fact that they do have food that people can come in and order by the container, since it appears that they always have a crowd. It’s really a great idea for those who are craving Julienne but don’t want to sit through an hour’s wait.

Cakes and cookies

After perusing through this part of the establishment, it was finally time for our party to be seated. It was a nice surprise to find ourselves seated in the private room, with only one other small table for 4 beside us. The room was beautifully adorned with books, fresh flowers, and bottles of wine. The waiter had asked if it was okay for us to sit in the private room, on the condition that we’d be done by 1:45pm, since the room was booked for a bridal shower later that afternoon. It was no problem for us, as my family isn’t the type to dawdle when it comes to meals.

Surrounded by bookshelves

By the time we were seated and had our orders taken, it was a bit past 12pm, and unfortunately only some of the breakfast items on the menu are served after that time. I had originally wanted to try their Chilaquiles, but they don’t serve it after 12pm. I then settled for the second thing I had been eyeing on the menu: a lamb sandwich with caramelized onions and sliced avocados. My mom and dad decided on the parmesan crusted swordfish with lemon cream sauce and the cubed beef salad. We also ordered creme brulee French toast to be shared between the three of us. It seemed to be one of the most popular dishes on the menu, and we couldn’t pass up the opportunity to try it.

Beautiful fresh flowers adorned the private room we were sitting in.

Admittedly it did take time for the food to come out, but they did make an effort to have all 9 of our dishes come out around the same time. I was so excited to eat when my dish came out. I’m a big fan of lamb, although I don’t eat it often. One bite and I was sold– this might be my new favorite brunch place. My parents laughed at me as a big smile crept up on my face, after that first bite. The beautifully sliced lamb, paired with the sweet onion and that nice creamy avocado on a toasted ciabatta bun was just bursting with flavor in my mouth. There are always meals that I like and enjoy, but there are only a handful of meals where I can honestly say makes me feel so happy after a single bite. This was one of those meals.

Lamb sandwich with caramelized onions and sliced avocado

My dish also came with a simple side salad, tossed in what tasted like a balsamic vinaigrette. It paired really nicely with the meaty-ness of the lamb. The Parmesan crusted swordfish was also something I really enjoyed. I took one fork full of the fish, and it flaked off perfectly. I dipped it in the lemon cream sauce and took a bite! Immediately I get a nice crunch from the Parmesan crust, and then the rest of the fish proceeded to melt in my mouth. But that lemon cream sauce- oh! I could take that home by the gallon if it were possible. My family eats a lot of fish, and we go fishing often– so we can appreciate good seafood when we have it. That swordfish was treated so well and all of its natural flavors shone through, even with the sauces and the sides.

Parmesan crusted swordfish

The beef cube salad was also very good. I don’t normally eat beef on a salad, so I never really know how to feel about it. The flavors were nice, and the beef was tender. I enjoyed the salad, but I don’t think I would order it if I came here again, just because there’s so many other wonderful things on the menu that I would like to try.

Beef salad

Last but not least, the creme brulee French toast came out. It was a thick cut of toast, with a nice sugary shell on the top. On the side was this wonderful strawberry and cream sauce. I loved how fluffy the toast was in the center. This is an extremely rich dish. I honestly don’t think I could eat this all by myself, if given the chance to. But if you have a strong sweet tooth, this is for you.

Creme Brulee French Toast

Overall, I had an amazing experience at Julienne. Everyone working there was so polite and just genuinely really nice. I had such a positive experience there, I can’t wait to go back. I highly recommend going there if you’re in the area.

Enjoy

Josie

Julienne
2649 Mission St
San Marino, CA 91108


Julienne Fine Foods & Celebrations

Leave a Reply

