Ramen Yukinoya – Arcadia, CA

Ramen Yukinoya in Arcadia is one of three of Ramen Yukinoya stores located all around Los Angeles. I cannot begin to tell you how many times I’ve driven past this place on the way to the 99 Ranch Market in Arcadia. It never really caught my eye, due to its humble appearance from the outside. But I finally gave this place a chance.

Spicy Miso Ramen
I visited the restaurant on a random weekday afternoon. It wasn’t overly crowded, but it did have a number of patrons eating lunch that day. This restaurant leans on the small side, but so do many of the ramen places I’ve been to. I’d estimate that it’d be able to seat around 30-40 people.
We were seated right away and given a good amount of time to look at the menu. I ordered on my default go-to ramen, Spicy Miso Ramen. You can choose the type of noodles that go along with your ramen, but I decided to stick with the slightly thicker noodles that was suggested by the server.  My other half decided to try the tonkatsu ramen and went with the usual thin noodles.
Tonkatsu Ramen with corn (additional)
The ramen came out quickly and my initial impression was that the ramen looked delicious! Before we started eating, I took a sip of the broth from each ramen. The tonkatsu ramen broth hit me like a ton of bricks. It was, needless to say, fatty– a lot fattier than I’m used to. I moved on to my spicy miso ramen, the broth also had a slight fatty taste to it but not as fatty as the tonkatsu.
So one of the interesting things about this restaurant is the marinated garlic that they have on every table. Each table comes with the marinated garlic and your very own garlic press. I ate my ramen halfway and decided to add the marinated pressed garlic out of curiosity.
Marinated garlic with garlic press
I’m definitely a fan of garlic, but I’ve never had it in my ramen quite like this before. It definitely elevated the taste of my broth a bit. As I reached the end of my bowl, I wasn’t completely satisfied, and seeing how the chili oil and broth had congealed made me feel a little sad for my stomach. “I’m sorry stomach! I shouldn’t have done this to you! Oh, the fat!”
Okay, maybe I’m being a little dramatic. Overall, Ramen Yukinoya is a cool joint in the neighborhood, but definitely wouldn’t be my go-to place for ramen. If you like the fattier type broths then I say go for it, but this is definitely not for the inclined health-nut.
Enjoy!
Josie
Ramen Yukinoya
1423 S Baldwin Ave
Arcadia, CA 91007
Leave a Reply

