Marco Polo Ice Cream – San Francisco

Note: This is an addendum to a post written on September 19, 2011.

If I could write an ode to Marco Polo Ice Cream, I would. It is honestly one of SF’s best kept secrets and is never as packed as it ought to be. And don’t let the name fool you, they serve gelato, not ice cream. No visit to SF is complete without a pilgrimage to Marco Polo.

A medley of tropical fruits.

I would recommend first timers give the tropical flavors a shot. There’s a reason why those select flavors are framed like that. It’s hard enough finding mangosteen, soursop or jackfruit (uncanned) in the States, not to mention gelato in these flavors. The serving sizes are dainty though, forcing you to slowly take in the flavors as they melt on your tongue. I tend to wolf down my food, so it’s definitely out of character for me to slow it down and really enjoy the scoops.

Their durian gelato is heaven.

My absolute fave is their durian gelato. It’s rich, creamy and fragrant: durian in its full glory, captured in gelato form.

Some of Marco Polo’s safer choices.

I’m afraid I’ve never tried their more conventional flavors, aside from pistachio (also recommended).

1447 Taraval St
San Francisco, CA 94116

 

One thought on “Marco Polo Ice Cream – San Francisco”

Leave a Reply

