Shake Shack – New York

Shake Shack (NYC)

Hello everyone,

Happy summer! I know, kind of late, considering that summer is ending soon, but things have been busy busy as always. I was planning on working full-time during my short summer break before school started up again, but I was offered the amazing opportunity to accompany my parents to a short trip to New York for business. It was my first time going to the East Coast (not including Florida) and I was so excited to hit the big Apple.

It was so hot! The humidity in NYC was so not the business. However, I did not let the heat stifle my enthusiasm for this beautiful city with its amazing sights and food culture. Calvin texted me when I landed in NYC and told me that I had to try the Shake Shack and do a “In-N-Out vs Shake Shack” review. So of course I was up to the challenge!

The back of the line.

The Shake Shack was about a 15 minute walk from our hotel at Times Square. Before crossing the street, I saw Shake Shack in glittering lights and a long line that went out the door. As I got closer, I realized that it wasn’t as big as it looked from the outside. There was not enough seating for the amount of people going in and out of the store. I must say though, the people who work at Shake Shack are really nice. Even though it was around 8pm, it was still around 90 degrees out and the humidity was not letting off. A couple of workers came out with a platter of ice water and handed them to waiting customers, which I thought was really nice.

Shake Shack offers a variety of different food including burgers, hot dogs, shakes, ice cream, wine, and even treats for man’s best friend. My dad and I wanted to just stick with the classic Shack Burger and my mom went with the Smoke Shack burger. We also ordered a side of fries and caramel peach custard to go with our meal.

Shack burger, Smoke Shack, fries, and caramel peach custard

It took a while for the food to come out. It didn’t matter though, because we couldn’t find a place to sit. My parents and I staggered ourselves around the dining area, keeping a look out for any diners who were about to leave. My dad was like a sniper camping out. Right when this table got up to leave, he slid right in and got us a table. Go Papa Lin! After waiting around 20 minutes for our order to come out, we finally got the buzz to get our food.

Buzzes and vibrates when your order is ready.

So how does the Shake Shack compare?

Shack Burger

The burger was simple with a patty, cheese, tomato and lettuce. The patty is salted and you can taste the saltiness with each bite. The bun was very slightly toasted. The burger itself was kind of on the small side, if I were to compare it to In-N-Out. It was a tasty burger, but it wasn’t amazing. I wasn’t blown away. The fries were good, but they weren’t anything special. I do prefer a crunchier fry as opposed to In-N-Out fries, but Shake Shack’s fries reminded me of the frozen  pre-cooked fries you would get at the cafeteria in middle school. So that was a little disappointing.

Shack Burger

I expected more for some reason. There wasn’t a lot of depth in the flavor. It was just salty throughout, and it wasn’t that satisfying. I’m sorry Shake Shack, but In-N-Out will always be my true love. But I must admit though, your Caramel Peach custard was pretty delicious.

Caramel Peach Custard

It was more caramel than peach though. The peach flavor was so subtle, it was almost forgotten in a way, because the caramel was so overpowering. It was really sweet, thick, and savory in a way. I dipped my fries in the shake and it was amazing together. The salty and sweet combo is always the way to go.

I think if I ever venture out to NYC again, I’d stop by the Shake Shack for a Shake and fries, but maybe pass on the burger. For a tiny $4.60 burger at Shake Shack, I could get a more satisfying, delicious, and amazing double double at In-N-Out.

East Coasters, you have not lived until you’ve had In-N-Out.

❤ josie

691 8th Ave
(between 44th St & 43rd St)
New York, NY 10036

Leave a Reply

