Lucy’s Tamale Factory – San Jose, CA

Lucy’s Tamale Factory
3739 Madeline Dr.
San Jose, CA 95127
http://www.lucystamalefactory.com

This tamale factory is famous in San Jose, so I thought I’d give it a try.  It isn’t the best tamales I’ve ever had, but they are good.  $2 each is a little pricey, considering they don’t taste too good the next day.  It’s in a ghetto area, I didn’t want to drive my new car there so I took my old one haha.  The shop is in a hidden plaza, so you need to know your way around San Jose to get to this place.

Jalapeno & Cheese: SPICY (for me at least), freshly eaten, the cheese is melted and it is heavenly.  Wait until the next day, you’re going to find yourself eating a tamale with a cheesestick inside…

 

Chicken con chile – The best! Chicken is super juicy and the green chile sauce is yummy, corn maza is textured but not hard, just the way I love it.

 

Beef – This special one was $3, but it was worth it.  The beef is tender, juicy, and extremely delicious.  Not spicy.

 

Sweet tamale – This unique dessert tamale is like a corn bread, Mexican style.  So soft and warm, the taste of corn is the best, and there are chunks of pineapple in it.

 

We also tried pork and regular chicken, not impressed.  The pork was juicy, but it didn’t have too much flavor.  The chicken was a little dry and also was bland.

I will definitely be coming back for the chicken con green chile and the sweet tamales, those are my favorite!

~Nicole

Leave a Reply

