Lemonade – Pasadena

537767_10151415657866995_989548677_nHi everyone!

I hope you’ve all had a wonderful Christmas and New Year’s πŸ™‚ I know it’s been a little awkward considering that both holidays fell in the beginning to middle of the week, so for some, it didn’t feel like a very long break. I know I felt that my break was really short because of it. Nonetheless, I was still able to catch up with some people and have lunch with them.

I’ve been wanting to try new places out in Pasadena for a while now and I came across some pictures of a cute little cafeteria-style restaurant, called Lemonade. I’m surprised that I didn’t try this place earlier, considering that I used to take my prep-course right across the street from it! There’s actually a lot of great restaurants located off of Lake, and I wish I had discovered them earlier.

Outdoor patio area. Photo credit: Tony Y. Jr. Y. from Yelp Photos

Lemonade is great for lunch. It was bustling with people on their lunch breaks, and I felt it was perfect for people who want to grab something quick to eat. Lemonade is just like a cafeteria, where you can select how many portions of sides you want and choose what entrees you want as you walk down an assembly line of food.

Photo credit: Janelle H. from Yelp

The portions were actually a lot bigger than I had anticipated. Definitely wouldn’t have ordered as much as I did had I known. But, I have no regrets. It was my first time there, and it was great being able to try a number of different things.

Watermelon radish ahi tuna

The watermelon radish ahi tuna had a nice flavor to it. It was a cold salad, light, but extremely flavorful. It had a pretty strong sesame flavor, which I like. What I liked about this salad was the contrast in textures of the tuna and the crunch of the watermelon. The watermelon wasn’t what I had expected. It’s sliced so thinly, it didn’t taste like watermelon, but it had a nice sweetness to it.

Sesame Brussel Sprouts

Would you believe me if I told you that this was my first time eating brussel sprouts? They’re so cute! They look like tiny cabbages. The brussel sprouts were nice and tender. They still had a nice crunch on the inside. I liked that there was a nice bite coming from the parmesan cheese. I think I’ve become a fan of brussel sprouts because of this dish. It also had a nice sesame flavor, but it was more subtle in comparison to the watermelon radish.

Red miso beef short rib

The entree I chose was a 1/2 portion of the Red Miso Beef Short Rib. This was my favorite of the threeΒ  things I had chosen. With this entree, you can add a side of lemon greens or Basmati rice. I chose Basmati rice as a side to this. Let me tell you, the flavor of this dish was incredible. It’s extremely rich, so it was perfect to balance the richness with the Basmati rice. The short rib was incredibly soft and tender. There weren’t any bones in my dish, but I’m sure if there were, the meat would just be falling off the bone. The 1/2 portion may not look like much when they point out which portions you may want, but trust me… it was more than enough.

So for the two portions I had chosen, it came out to $5.25. The 1/2 portion of the entree was $6, plus the side of basmati rice, which was an additional $1.50.

Blueberry mint lemonade: $3

You can’t go to a place called “Lemonade” without actually trying their lemonades. I also ordered Lemonade for $3. I ordered the blueberry mint lemonade and was pleasantly surprised that it wasn’t too sweet or too sour. You can definitely taste the hint of mint. What I loved about this drink was that the blueberry wasn’t overpowering. It was such a lovely combination.

So in total, my meal came out to about $17. Pricey, right?? I was surprised, too. Honestly, I feel if I had chosen just the entree with one side portion and a lemonade, it wouldn’t have been so much in terms of price. But, I was here for the first time and just got a little carried away since everything looked so amazing and delicious.

Don’t let the price deter you from trying this place! It has amazing seasonal dishes and also you can tell that a lot of care and love goes into their food. And remember, a little goes a long way here. I wasn’t able to finish all of this food, even after the help of my friend.

Overall, this place is great for lunch. It has a cute outdoor patio and has a wonderful atmosphere.

Enjoy

❀ josie

146 S Lake Ave
Pasadena, CA 91101

Leave a Reply

