Gooyi Gooyi Korean BBQ – Santa Clara, CA

Gooyi Gooyi
2331 El Camino Real
Santa Clara, CA 95051
http://gooyi.orengeo.com

This is not an all you can eat Korean bbq place, nor it is cheap.  But what it does have is quality meat, that is not found in any AYCE bbq restaurant.  I was craving brisket so much that I had to get some.  This place has a $39.99 deal that comes with a plate of beef brisket and pork belly, steamed egg, and soybean soup.  It also comes with the standard sides, salad, rice paper, and rice.  The special thing about this place is that instead of a gas grill, it uses coal, so the meat is supposed to taste a little different, but I couldn’t really tell since I was so hungry.

The sides that is came with were pretty good, the kimchi wasn’t fermented enough and the mashed potatoes tasted old, but the other side dishes were delicious, especially the seaweed salad and pickled radishes.  Salad had a good amount of dressing and was freshly made, so it was very refreshing to eat with the meat, especially the fatty pork belly.  Steamed egg and soybean soup were standard, nothing too special about them.

The brisket had amazing marbling, and melted in your mouth when it was cooked.  It was just so much fresher than what they serve at ayce bbq.  Pork belly was very fatty, but that’s how I like it!  It took a while to cook it to be crispy like I wanted it, but it was worth it.

The service here is great, they are very friendly and never rude to us, making sure we were taken care of.  One thing I did not like though, was the fact that they insisted on cooking the meat for us.  I like cooking my own meat and deciding when it’s done, but they didn’t really let me do that here, because they assumed I had no idea what I was doing.  Little do they know what kind of a kbbq master I am!  Just kidding.  But really, they turned off the grill before the pork belly was crispy enough for my taste, so I was a little irritated about that.

I wouldn’t come here on a regular basis just because there is just no where near the amount of food I could get for the same price in lovely Ktown, but once in a while when you’re craving ayce so much that it hurts, this would be a good place to splurge at.

~Nicole

One thought on “Gooyi Gooyi Korean BBQ – Santa Clara, CA”

  1. Ugh…I’m with you. I hate it when they don’t let the customer decide when their BBQ is done cooking. But, I think they do that out of fear that the customer will burn the meat, ruin the meal and refuse to pay or ask for more meat. Sometimes, when I want a server at one of these kind of establishments to come to the table I make a motion to grab the tongs and they come quickly, albeit extremely annoyed. ^_^

Leave a Reply

