Kimchi Beef Jjigae

Hello all!

I recently purchased a clay pot from “Hawaii Supermarket” in San Gabriel and wanted to put it to work. It’s been a while since I’ve made homemade jjigae, and wanted to give it another go. I’ve tried so many different recipes and ways of making this tofu soup, but it never turns out exactly like the kind you would get at a tofu house. I’m not sure what it’s missing, but I’ve followed all of the other recipes to a T, and it still doesn’t turn out the same. I don’t know why my broth is a little lighter than the ones you would find in tofu houses. Either way, the result is still good, but I have to warn you that the flavor may not be authentic.

I’m using a similar recipe to an old recipe I posted a long time ago, back in 2010. However, I’ve made a few changes from then. I hope you enjoy this anyway!

Vegetable ingredients

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 Pack of Enoki Mushroom
  • 1 pack of soft tofu
  • 1/2 zucchini (cut into one inch, quartered size)
  • 1 green onion (chopped)
  • 1/2 small brown onion
  • 1/4 chopped Kimchi
  • 1 tablespoon of red pepper paste
  • 1 tablespoon of soy sauce
  • 1/2 tablespoon of red pepper powder
  • 1 egg
  • Sesame oil (to finish)

Beef marinade:

  • 1/4 lb of ground beef
  • 1 tablespoon of cooking wine
  • 1 tablespoon of sesame oil
  • Pinch of salt and pepper
  • 2 cloves of garlic (chopped)
  • 1/2 tablespoon of chili oil
  • 1/2 tablespoon of soy sauce
Red pepper paste and soft tofu ingredients

Directions:

Combine the ground beef and marinade ingredients. Set aside for 10 minutes. During this time, prepare your vegetable ingredients.

Marinaded beef with onions

Heat a pot over medium heat with 1 1/2 tablespoons of oil. Add the beef and stir fry until beef is cooked through and onions are translucent. Stir fry the kimchi into the beef, onion mixture.  Add 1 cup of water and the sliced zucchinis. Bring the soup to a boil.

Adding in the zucchini

Once the soup is boiling, reduce it to low and add the mushroom, soft tofu, red pepper paste, and soy sauce. Simmer for an additional 5 minutes. Add the egg to the soup, and spoon the soup mixture over it–making sure that the egg will get cooked through. Add the chopped green onion over the top and allow the soup to simmer for another 2-3 minutes. Turn off the heat and drizzle some sesame oil over the top to finish.

Kimchi Beef Jjigae

This was one of my favorite soups to make on cold nights in my old apartment. Something that I didn’t do in this recipe that I normally would do is add one chopped chili over the top. The flavor of this soup is lighter than traditional jjigae. Please feel free to add salt or soy sauce to taste.

If you have any recommendations for jjigae recipes I should try, please comment below! I’m still searching for the best jjigae recipe out there that will get me results closest to tofu houses! haha..

Enjoy!

❤ josie

2 thoughts on “Kimchi Beef Jjigae”

  1. : ) hey josie, usually when my aunty cooks she uses old kimchi which has gone sour. Also I believe she adds some of the liquid/sauce/soup that’s in the kimchi into the broth as well. I believe sour kimchi makes a difference. Try that? 😀

  2. Thanks Cera! I’ve tried adding the kimchi broth in there as well before, but I don’t know why the broth seems really liquidy to me.

Leave a Reply

