Tokyo and Shinjuku Japan: Food Aventure Recap Part 1

Hello everyone!

We continue on with our Asia food adventure with Japan! My mom and I arrived in Japan at night on the 4th of July. We were flying back to the U.S on the 7th, so realistically, we had 2 days to travel around Japan. I had anticipated that Japan was going to be costly, but I did not realize how costly. I think within the first 24 hours of being in Japan, we spent $500 on transportation, tours, meals, very small souvenirs, and a few snacks. Insane!

Spicy miso ramen

Our hotel wasn’t located within Tokyo. It was too much to stay in Tokyo, so we stayed in Shinjuku. The Narita airport is actually quite far from the city. It took about 2 hours to get to Shinjuku via bus, with only one 5 minute stop. We arrived pretty late at night, but were extremely hungry. We decided to venture from our hotel to see what was in the area. We stumbled upon a ramen shop next to our hotel.

Soy Sauce Ramen

Let me just say, this was the most amazing find! It was so convenient to have this near our hotel. We actually came back to eat here twice! The ramen was the cheapest thing we had throughout our Japan trip. The ramen was around $10 each person, which was a lot cheaper than the other meals we came across.

Also, I’d like to mention, that no other ramen I’ve ever had compares to the ramen I had in Japan. It was so amazing! Gah, I miss it so much! The noodles are cooked aldente, but has a wonderful texture and flavor to this. The spicy miso broth had a nice thickness too it, but not too thick. The soy sauce ramen was light and full of flavor, topped with bean sprouts and chau siu.

I was in heaven!

My cousin once asked me if I’ve ever eaten food that touched my soul– the kind of food that makes the world go silent, and there is nothing else but you and that moment of happiness. In that moment, no one is talking. They just eat with joy. As my cousin said, “life is simple, you eat and then you’re happy.” I love that he said that and I totally agree with that statement! And I must say, that this ramen… definitely touched my soul.

A traditional Japanese meal provided to us on our tour through Tokyo.

I don’t think I was disappointed at all with Japan’s food. Everything tasted amazing..even the McDonald’s.. haha. During one of the days, we took a full tour of Tokyo. We visited the Tokyo Tower, the Imperial Palace, the Meiji Shrine, and so much more. It was definitely worth taking the tour as opposed to traveling around by ourselves, especially considering that we got to see so many different locations over a limited amount of time. We wouldn’t have been able to do it ourselves.

Japanese rice crackers
Chicken and pork katsu
Curry Pan
Green tea ice cream

Although we were in Japan for a limited amount of time, my mom and I were quite excited by the food scene in Japan and took a lot of pictures of different types of food. So I’m going to continue on with my Japan trip recap on another post.

Look forward to it!

Next up: hello kitty pastries!!!

Enjoy

❤ josie

5 thoughts on “Tokyo and Shinjuku Japan: Food Aventure Recap Part 1”

  1. So many rice crackers!!! And we need to try to make that curry pan, it looks quite heavenly, or maybe I’m just a curry fiend

  2. There’s a Japanese youtube person that I follow, and he came up with a really quick and easy recipe for curry pan. We could definitely try making it. 🙂

  3. hi..may I know which hotel u have stayed in Shinjuku? Im goin on late of March, headache looking for budget hotel or hostel in Shinjuku.

    1. I stayed in Hotel Sunroute Plaza in Shinjuku. It was a great location…simply a 5-10 minute walk to Shinjuku station. If you wanted to take the train from Narita Airport to the hotel, it’s possible. However, I arrived in Narita late at night, and so I simply took a bus transfer to the hotel. But I did take the train back to the airport at the end of my trip, and it was feasible to roll my luggage down the street to the station and head to the airport. There was also this really great ramen restaurant right next door and there were plenty of convenience shops around and McDonald’s on the corner as well.

Leave a Reply

