Chaya Brasserie – San Francisco, CA

Chaya Brasserie 
132 The Embarcadero
San Francisco, CA 94105 
http://www.thechaya.com

Once in a blue moon I am whisked away to some fancy restaurant with ridiculously high prices and small portions.  It was a blue moon last Friday.  This restaurant has a beautiful view of SF Bay and the bridge, a great classy lounge vibe, with homey decor to make it feel like you’re dining in your house.  Your very expensive house.

Rainbow Sashimi and Seaweed Salad – $18

Pan-Seared Day Boat Scallops and Crispy Veal Sweetbreads – $16

San Francisco Roll & Salmon Skin Roll

Honey-Coffee Glazed Duck Breast – $28

The food was very very good, the fish was fresh and melted in your mouth.  My favorite was the scallops and sweetbreads, they’re to die for…I’ve never had such amazing scallops before.  And now I can say I know why there’s been so much hype about sweetbreads – SO GOOD!  My duck breast was very tender and seasoned well, I loved the honey coffee glaze on the skin, that was the best part.  But alas, I won’t be eating these kinds of meals every day, it was very pricey.

~Nicole

Leave a Reply

