Poke-Poke – Venice Beach

Hello all!

As promised, more reviews for my last days here in the States until my long-awaited Asia trip. I’m super excited just thinking about all of the different foods I’ll be able to eat and try, but guhhh, I am not looking forward to the damage in terms of weight gain, that’s for sure. =( NO ME GUSTA!

Moving on…

I took my cousin to Venice Beach on Tuesday (June 12th), because he wanted to walk around and explore a bit.  He heard about this sashimi joint called Poke-Poke from yelp, and really wanted to try it. We decided to head there first in the afternoon and grab an early lunch.

So the food here is Hawaiian-style sashimi. It comes in two sizes, small or large. You choose your ahi tuna poke flavors, the type of rice you want (white or brown) and then you can personalize your poke with additional toppings. Only the avocado was extra in terms of the toppings you could choose.

I decided to go simple by choosing a small spicy tuna poke with brown rice and kale. My cousin went with the original, brown rice, and all the extra toppings with the exception of the pickled ginger.

It was so good! I am a huge fan of sashimi and the ahi tuna was so fresh. I loved it! Although, I have to say it is a bit pricey for this small portion ($7), but it’s expected since it’s sashimi. The spicy sauce for my tuna had a nice kick. It didn’t overpower the taste of the tuna, which is an extra plus. I especially loved the contrasting texture of the firm ahi tuna with the crunchiness of the kale. They also cooked the brown rice really well. I am a fan of brown rice, but I find that it’s hard for me to eat it when it’s not cooked a certain way.

Overall, it was a nice pick on my cousin’s end. We ended up bike riding for a couple of hours after this. It was really cloudy at the beach, but I still ended up sunburned, again! =( I’m like a tomato now.

Anyway, I definitely want to eat this if I’m ever in Venice again.

Enjoy

❤ josie

1827 Ocean-Front Walk
Venice, CA 90291

4 thoughts on “Poke-Poke – Venice Beach”

  1. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to
    say that I’ve really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your
    feed and I hope you write again soon!

Leave a Reply

