Urth Cafe – Downtown Los Angeles

After hearing about this place from so many people, I finally had the opportunity to come here last Thursday night with my future sister-in-law and a friend.

A lot of people I know rave about their coffee, but I am, in no way, a coffee drinker. That is more in Justin’s department. So I’m sorry to say, I can’t say much about the coffee. What I can say is that aside from the coffee recommendations, my friends have also told me about the pretty designs Urth Cafe makes on its hot drinks. Good looking food that also tastes good? That is an okay-go for me!

Downtown LA is about 20-25 minutes from where I live. We exited off of Vignes street and went through these winding roads. At first, I honestly thought we were lost. In my head I kept thinking, “There’s no way this cafe could be in a shady place like this.” But, lo’ and behold, it was! I don’t even know how to describe the neighborhood it’s in. It’s located across a pretty nice looking apartment complex, but other than that… I wouldn’t recommend walking around the neighborhood at night. Also, parking was a little tricky, so keep that in mind.

At Urth Cafe, you order your food first, grab a number and find a seat for yourself. The servers will then bring your orders to you.

Urth Cafe offers a number of sandwiches, salads, and pastries. The cheesecake looked so good, I just had to have it! I chose the last blueberry cheesecake that they had. It was really great! We split it amongst the 3 of us and weren’t able to finish it at all. This cheesecake was about $6.75, which is a bit pricey, but don’t expect anything less from Urth. It’ll be on a pricier side, but definitely the quality is worth the money.

I ordered the small Spicy Chai Tea Latte, and in no way was it “small.” It was about $3-4, and definitely a lot for what you get. I can’t imagine being able to finish a medium or even a large. Anyway, the Spicy Chai Latte was amazing! It has such a wonderful spicy fragrance to it and great depth in its taste. My friends commented on how strong the spicy aroma was, which definitely reflects the quality of spices they use in the Chai. It had a nice kick to it, which I loved.

My sister-in-law ordered the Japanese Green Tea Latte, as pictured above. You definitely need to mix in the cream before drinking this, or else you get a chunk of green tea at the top. It has a nice, strong green tea flavor, but it wasn’t my favorite drink. There was a bit too much grittiness in the drink, and when I think of green tea, I like it in its pure form, without any sugars or creams added.

And then we have the green milk tea boba. The boba was nice and chewy, and the green tea flavor wasn’t as strong as the latte. I think the flavors were blended a lot better in this drink than the former.

Overall, I liked the vibe of the cafe. It was bustling even at 10:30pm. I definitely want to come here, again. I just wished that the area wasn’t so shady, but maybe it’s because it was at night, and everything feels a little scary at night in downtown LA.

Oh! If you have any recommendations for drinks or food I should try the next time I’m here, comment below. πŸ™‚

Enjoy!

❀ josie

451 S Hewitt St
Los Angeles, CA 90013

Leave a Reply

