Baked Coconut Shrimp with Pina Colada Sauce

A couple weeks ago my family and I went to Red Lobster for my brother’s birthday, and we ordered their coconut shrimp.  I guess my family was craving it again so they asked me to make it for them.  I’ve done them before and I always prefer baking because it’s healthier.

Ingredients:
-1 to 2 lbs of shrimp, I had around 40 medium sized shrimp, deveined and washed with salt water
-1/3 cup corn starch
-3/4 tsp cayenne pepper (more or less to your preference)
-1 tsp  salt
-2 cups flaked sweet shredded coconut
-3 egg whites, beaten until fluffy

Mix the corn starch, cayenne pepper, and salt together in one bowl.  Prepare and separate the shredded coconut in another bowl.  Have the eggs ready and the shrimp dried.

Dip the shrimp in the corn starch mixture, shake off excess; dunk them in the egg white mixture real quick and then in the coconut, pressing it into the shrimp to make sure they stick.  Place them on a lightly sprayed cooking pan/sheet.

Put them in the oven and bake for 15-20 minutes at 400 degrees until they are cooked, flipping them halfway through.

My dog popping his head in to see what I’m baking.

For the sauce, it’s kind of like a pina colada yogurt basically.  I just mixed coconut cream, pineapple juice, vanilla yogurt, some sugar, and crushed pineapple until I liked the consistently and taste.

The finished product is below! I like it that the coconut is kind of charred, it’s really crunchy.  Most my friends know I usually hate shredded coconut, but this recipe is probably the only exception, because baking or frying the shredded coconut changes it to a more nutty taste and the texture is crunchy.  This is probably a recipe version a thousand times healthier than Red Lobster’s haha.

ENJOY!
~Nicole

Leave a Reply

