Char Siu ribs

Pork babyback ribs were on sale for $1.99 at our military grocery store, so my parents bought this sweet rack for less than $12.  I saw this recipe on youtube and wanted to give it a try, doubled the amount of everything since my rack of ribs was twice as big as the one she had in the video.  I couldn’t find brown sugar and I didn’t want to go buy some so I just used white sugar instead.  The recipe asks for hot chili garlic sauce but I couldn’t find that in my fridge either so I just used sriracha sauce and minced garlic.

Ingredients for marinade:

  • 1/2 cup hoisin sauce
  • 1/2 shao hsing wine (rice cooking wine)
  • 4 tbsp soy sauce
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tbsp minced garlic
  • 1 tbsp sriracha

Ingredients for basting sauce:

  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 2 tbsp hoisin sauce

After cleaning the ribs, trimming the fat and cutting it into pieces that would fit a giant plastic ziploc for marinade, I rubbed the ribs with salt and washed it, this gets rid of any unpleasant smells in the meat.   I mixed all the marinade in a small bowl and tasted it before pouring it into the container with the meat and rubbing it in.  I then put all the meat in one ziploc bag, squeezed all the air out, and closed it.  I marinated it in the fridge over night, turning the bag over in the morning so the marinade soaks everything evenly.

I baked it exactly according to how the recipe states, except I pulled out some of the smaller pieces early so they wouldn’t overcook and turn into jerky.  I microwaved the basting sauce a little to make it easier to baste the meat as well.

One thing I would do differently if I cook this again is add more garlic sriracha in the marinade, and change the basting ratio to have more hoisin and less honey.   The end product was very delicious, the ribs were moist with that classic char siu flavor that wasn’t salty and just sweet enough, and it had a slight char on the edges that were SO yummy to chew on.  My family loved it, and they’re very hard to please.  It’s a little time consuming on the cooking end, since it took 3 hours and I had to flip it and baste it, but WELL worth it in the end.

~Nicole

Leave a Reply

