Honey’s Kettle Fried Chicken – Culver City, CA

Honey’s Kettle Fried Chicken
9537 Culver Blvd., Culver City, CA 90232
http://www.honeyskettle.com/

Hungry for some yumminess, my friends and I came here for some fried chicken.  We ordered the Family Pac that came out to be $25.56 and comes with 8 pieces of chicken (2 wings, 2 thighs, 2 breast, 2 drumsticks), 4 biscuits, 2 orders of kettle fries, and 1 container of macaroni salad.  It was also supposed to come with pickles but I don’t know what happened, maybe they didn’t have any, no big deal.  They have secret sauce (which is sweet, kind of reminds me of tamarind), spicy sauce, and honey that you can serve for yourself while you wait for the food.  When it came…OH man I was so happy, it was so much food for 4 people, we were definitely more than full (and I was with 3 boys).  The chicken isn’t like Southern fried chicken, The skin wasn’t flaky, it was more of large pieces of flour coating that gave it a deep crunch (I hope this makes sense), and the skin had a sweet taste to it.  The fries were to die for, it was thick cut, which I usually don’t prefer, but since they were cooked in a kettle, they were super crunchy on the outside and fluffy on the inside.  The biscuits were just heavenly as well, they were so light and buttery.  The macaroni salad is similar to the Hawaiian macaroni salads, sweet with pieces of celery for crunch, yum.  Nothing was greasy, which was awesome.  For me, I enjoyed the fries with the secret sauce and the chicken with the honey.  The spicy sauce wasn’t anything special to me (it wasn’t even spicy) so I didn’t eat a lot of it.  I thought it was kind of expensive, but honestly it’s completely worth it, and it’s way more affordable than Korean fried chicken.  We were stuffed on $7 each!  Must try.

                            

~Nicole

Leave a Reply

