Golden Gate Bakery – San Francisco

I think it was Day 3 that we decided to explore Chinatown and do some shopping in Union Square (and pay the 3-story Forever 21 a visit, per Michelle’s request).

In the morning, we dropped by perhaps the most famous egg tart bakery in San Fran, Golden Gate Bakery (金門餅家).

I eagerly got there, rain and all, waiting to snap pics of the place and all of their selections.

But alas, I didn’t heed the warning sign: “NO PHOTOGRAPHY OR VIDEO.” Out of nowhere, an angry Chinese woman behind the counter began pointing her fingers at me and telling me to back off. So that was basically the only picture I got inside.

Anyhow, we ended up walking to the basement of the Union Square Macy’s, where I finally got a chance to take pictures sans rain.

The ubiquitous pink box used by all legit Chinese bakeries. I love the wrapping.

And egg tarts (蛋撻, danta) in their full glory. The egg custard was light and sweet, and the crust was flaky and delicately buttery, just the way I like them. Also, they were the perfect size (I’ve seen a lot of dim sum restaurants scale back on their egg tart portions…) Michelle said that the lady packed us the bad ones because I took pictures of their bakery, but I’d like to believe that wasn’t the case.

We also got a few wife pastries (老婆餅, laopo bing) with wintermelon paste and flaky lotus paste pastry (莲蓉餠, lianrong bing), but since we kept them inside a bag all day, they ended up crushed and crumbled. Still tasty. Just not worth the megabytes to snap pictures of.

Address: 1029 Grant Ave, San Francisco, CA 94133 | map

Peace,
Justin

Leave a Reply

