Tuna Pasta Salad

Ingredients:

  • Half a head of lettuce, chopped
  • One carrot, julienned
  • One can of tuna
  • Half a can of corn
  • 1/4 box of whole wheat rotini
  • Vinaigrette: olive oil, juice of one whole lemon, salt, pepper, 1/4 cup of white wine vinegar (apple cider vinegar can also be used)

Directions: Cook the rotini by following the box directions. Chop the lettuce and carrots. I used canned corn for convenience, but for a great taste, you can grill corn and cut the kernels off of the cob and use it for the salad. Add the tuna and whisk all of the ingredients for the vinaigrette together.

I had this for lunch yesterday. I made it in the morning, knowing that I’d be on campus from 8am-7pm or later. I was stuck in lab from 10:30am-5pm straight. Not fun! Luckily my professor allows us to eat in there, so I decided to make a quick and healthy lunch. I also sliced a Korean pear and packed it with my lunch. It was really filling!

So I read something interesting the other day. It is said that you shouldn’t eat fruit after a meal, because it will ferment in your stomach due to the acidity of the fruit—causing gas etc. Fruit is best eaten on an empty stomach to really take advantage of its health properties. Is this true?

Josie

Leave a Reply

