Bento: Stir Fry Beef with Corn

Bento: Stir Fry Beef with Corn

  • 1/4 lb. beef (cut into cubes)
  • 1 tbs soy sauce
  • 1/2 tbs sesame oil
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Garlic Powder
  • 1 tbs tapioca starch

Directions: Add the salt, garlic powder, pepper, sesame oil, and soy sauce together. Add the starch and make sure it coats all of the meat. Heat up a small pan and put 2 tablespoon of oil. Stir fry the meat until well done.

So lately I’ve been trying to bring my own lunch more and more often this quarter. It was all working well until last week, when I had a tough exam schedule that made me a little lazy in terms of cooking and getting things ready. So I’ve been buying food on campus (not the best idea).

Now that I have a break from exams for this week, with the exception of my Spanish oral exam, I decided to make a better effort to pack my own lunch. I wanted to make something simple and something quick (in terms of cooking and eating).

Nicole and I were taken to the market today by our friend, which allowed me to buy more meat and other necessities. I’ve been missing milk for a long while now, but finally we have some. Yay! I bought a decently priced tri-tip. I try my best to buy large quantities of meat and storing them in the freezer. When I got back I trimmed the fat off the meat and separated the meat into three ziploc bags. I used the remaining meat for my lunch.

It’s really important for me to cook a lunch that is easy and quick, not only to cook, but to eat as well. The reason? Mainly because I end work at 12:30pm and start class at 1:00pm. My class and work location are on opposites sides of the campus. I don’t even think you could consider my work place as being part of the campus at all. So it takes me about 10-15 minutes to walk to class, therefore giving me 10 minutes or so to eat lunch before class. I know, poor scheduling on my part, but it’s the way things are twice a week for me.

The corn is just some can corn that I seasoned with pepper. The rice has some furikaki on it, and not pictured here, is some carrots to go with it.

Can’t wait to eat this tomorrow, yum!

Josie

Leave a Reply

