Chego – Palms

Okay, I’m way behind on posting up food and boba reviews 😦 and I don’t know if it’s even worth writing these up now. Today, a certain someone pointed out that I hadn’t reviewed Chego, a recently opened Korean-Mexican fusion restaurant a la Kogi (food truck) yet, so here it is. My expectations weren’t too high, since I found Kogi tasty but nothing close to mind-blowing.

Service is pretty straightforward. Order at the counter, be assigned a number and wait for your order to arrive on their cafeteria-like tables. It’s pretty much no-nonsense, and the plates are 100% biodegradable.

I ordered Buttered Kimchi Chow, a heapful of chicharrones, kimchi flavored rice, edamame beans, tofu, and a fried egg. For $7, I expected larger portions, considering how scaled down the service was. The bowl was soggy and way too confusing for my taste buds. The medley of flavors: sweet, spicy, salty and herby (if that’s a word) was too much. I wasn’t sure what exactly I was supposed to be enjoying.

One of us ordered the Sour Cream Hen House, basically grilled chicken and kimchi flavored rice with Chinese broccoli, basil, red peppers and a generous portion of sour cream. That too, was confusing. The sour cream was a overwhelming and really didn’t belong. Moreover, like the Kimchi Chow, the bowl was soggy and wet, having the consistency and texture of gruel.

Someone else ordered the Chubby Pork Belly: fatty pork belly with radishes, water spinach, peanuts and yes, a fried egg. The water spinach wasn’t fresh, but I thought the pork belly was okay. It was flavorful and sort of sweet, but nothing special. All in all, all of the dishes we ordered were similar tasting to me.

I wouldn’t go out of my way for Chego. Korean-Mexican fusion might be stretching it a bit, when the food tastes neither Korean nor Mexican.

Rating: 3/5 (I’ll be a tad more generous. Josie gave it a 2!)

Peace,
Justin

Leave a Reply

