Cailan with Baked Tofu and Chinese Sausages


Cailan with baked tofu and chinese sausages in oyster sauce

Ingredients:

  • 1 small bag of cailan
  • 2 chinese sausages
  • 1 square of baked tofu
  • salt, pepper, garlic powder, and oyster sauce

Directions: Wash the cailan thoroughly, especially between the leaves. Dirt tends to get stuck between the leaves sometimes. Take a vegetable peeler and peel the skin off of the stems of the cailan— the cailan’s stems tend to be rough and hard to eat, so just peel off the outer layer until you see the softer meat of the vegetable. Chop the cailan starting from the stem. Cut the stem in a diagonal way and then chop the leaves into big sections (they will reduce in size when cooked). Separate the stem and the leaves of the cailan.

Chop the chinese sausages into diagonal pieces, similarly shaped and sized to the cailan stems. Take one square of baked tofu and slice it into 1 inch pieces.

In a heated pan, add oil. Add the sausage and the stems of the cailan first. The stems tend to be thicker than the rest of the vegetable, so it will take slightly longer to cook, and the sausage needs a little more time to cook as well. They are chopped in similar size and shape so they are able to cook evenly. Add the leaves of the cailan and season the dish with salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Just season it to your personal taste. After the leaves begin to wilt, add the tofu and stir fry for an additional 2-3 minutes. Add one tablespoon of oyster sauce and stir for an additional 2-3 minutes. Plate the dish and serve!

——

Just a quick, light dinner today. I actually was going to make chicken katsu to go with this meal, but then I realized that I don’t have any eggs =( sadd… Nicole and I need to go grocery shopping soon.

So as you can see from the last picture, I put the dish over a bed of white rice. Now, some of you may know this, and some of you may not, but recently I’ve been switching over to eating brown rice, but not completely. I’ve been making a brown rice/white rice mix. Brown rice is definitely healthier for you, and a great alternative for those of you who want to be a on a low-carb diet. Brown rice can definitely be a little tougher to eat, but in order to get used to the taste, I recommend a brown rice/white rice mix. However, today I decided to just make white rice. I really should be eating brown rice completely. I’m not supposed to eat white rice anymore =( le sigh… as an Asian you know how hard it is to do that.

Anyhow, one modification I would make to this recipe is that I would add chopped garlic. I totally forgot until the end. You should chop the garlic and add it to the hot oil before the other ingredients.

Oh, and I took a picture of what the baked tofu looks like. Unfortunately, I don’t have the original packaging anymore. I used this same tofu for the udon dish I made earlier. I also took a picture of my favorite brand of chinese sausages. I like the pork/chicken mix, because there’s less oil/fat content in it. Yum!

Okay, I hope you guys enjoy!

❤ josie

Leave a Reply

