Nasi Goreng – Indonesian fried rice

Ingredients:

  • 1 packet of nasi goreng seasoning
  • 2 cups of day old rice
  • 1 chopped green onion
  • 1 egg

I made this for lunch the other day. I was craving something yummy and fast.

Nasi goreng is an Indonesian version of fried rice. nasi means rice and goreng means fried.  It’s not like other types of fried rice, because the seasoning is very different. It has more of a garlic, chili and spices kind of taste. Also the texture is very different, since it’s a more wet kind of rice rather than a drier one, that you would get in other places. There’s a lot of different types of nasi goreng in Indonesia, but I don’t eat this kind that often. Most of the time, my mom almost never makes this for me.

Anyway, typically for nasi goreng you would garnish the dish with some fresh cold vegetables. Typically you would garnish it with sliced tomatoes and also sliced cucumbers. Unfortunately, I didn’t have any cucumbers.

We also tend to garnish it with bawang goreng which is a very fried green onion. Just a nice crunch of texture.

Much love. This is a quick meal you could make for yourself.

And this packet of seasoning can be found in your Asian supermarket, in the Indonesian food row (well it’s more like half a row). It’s very affordable. It’s only about $2-3 from what I remembered.

Try it out.

❤ josie

4 thoughts on “Nasi Goreng – Indonesian fried rice”

    1. Most definitely! It is important in a lot of dishes. I think that’s one of the main reasons why Nasi goreng has a sweeter taste and also a wetter texture than regular fried rice.

  1. Well, I have 2 different types of nasi goreng back from my family’s recipe. We don’t add kecap manis, but we use a type of fish sauce that is common to be sold in Surabaya but not in other provinces and uses lots of ground white pepperand green onion. Also, we sometimes make nasi goreng from a leftover sambal terasi.

    1. Yes! I’m surprised that you do that as well. My family also uses sambal terasi to make nasi terasi sometimes. I love it! I was surprised to find that a lot of my mom’s friends had never eaten nasi goreng made from sambal terasi. I wonder if this is a regional thing?

Leave a Reply

