Roasted Cornish Game hen

 

Ingredients:

  • One cornish game hen
  • Salt water
  • 3 lemons
  • Pepper
  • Chili Powder
  • Garlic Salt
  • Rice wine vinegar
  • Soy Sauce

Hello everyone! I’m so sorry for being M.I.A lately, and I haven’t been keeping up with the blog! More importantly, I haven’t been blogging my recipes lately. Part of the reason is because I was living at home for a short while, which means that my mom would cook food for us. I’ve just recently moved into my new apartment. And you know, new apartment=new recipes.

This is not exactly a new recipe, but every time I make a cornish game hen, something different is always put into it. Nicole and I have also experimented with different methods of cooking this, too.

So back home, there are tons of Asian supermarkets around, but the place I normally get this cornish game hen from is Hawaii supermarket in the San Gabriel Valley. It’s only about $2! I think that’s a pretty sweet deal.

So, what I did first was cleaned the hen and placed it in a plastic bag with water, and a lot of salt. I created a type of brine, and also added some pepper. I’m sorry I don’t have direct measurements, since I tend to eyeball things. I cut 2 lemons in half and squeezed the juice into the plastic bag and left the lemons in the bag as well. Normally leaving the hen 4-6 to brine is good enough, but I decided to try leaving it overnight. (Mainly because my schedule the next day was a bit hectic, and I knew I wouldn’t have time to brine it long enough).

The next day, I poured the water out and preheated my oven to 375 degrees. This was my first time using the oven in my new apartment, so I had to adjust the temperature and time to cook accordingly. In our old apartment, the oven was crazy and it would burn cookies and cook things quickly. It was always hard to tell what time was enough. But anyway, I used a glass baking dish wrapped in foil for easy clean up. I placed the hen on the dish and poured a couple of tablespoons of rice wine vinegar over it and also poured a tablespoon inside the hen. I took a new lemon and squeezed the juice over it and into the hen as well, and stuffed the hen with the lemons, to create a type of steaming effect on the inside of the hen. I seasoned the hen with garlic salt, chili pepper, and pepper accordingly. Make sure you get all sides of the hen. I tend to use a lot of pepper on the top of the hen, because I like to create a nice crust. A spice that I’ve used in the past is paprika. It gives a nice smoky flavor to it. And oh! I almost forgot, I used a couple tablespoons of soy sauce as well. You can use a low sodium soy sauce if you think that there’s too much salt already.

I cooked the hen in the oven about 40-45 minutes. Depending on your oven, it might take longer or less time. Just make sure you cook the hen thoroughly. With any type of bird, you don’t want to undercook it. That would be deadly for your stomach.

Anyway, this was a pretty simple dish, and it came out really great! The meat was juicy, and it was nice and lemony. The skin had a nice crust on it and was slightly crunchy. The flavor was really great! I really want to make this again when I get a chance.

I hope you all enjoyed this recipe!

❤ josie

Leave a Reply

