Togeh Goreng

 

Ingredients

  • 1-2 cups of bean sprouts
  • 2 roma tomatoes (diced)
  • 2 green onions (sliced)
  • 1/4 cup salted fish
  • 2 cloves garlic (chopped)
  • soy sauce, fish sauce, chili oil, garlic powder, salt and pepper

Directions:

  1. Pour a little bit of vegetable oil into a sauce pan. When the pan is hot, put the chopped garlic into the pan and fry until it starts turning a little brown. Add the salted fish into the pan and fry for a few minutes.
  2. Add the bean sprouts, chopped tomatoes, and the green onions to the pan.
  3. Add soy sauce, fish sauce, salt and pepper, garlic powder, and chili oil to taste.

I made this for Justin on Monday, to eat with the chicken noodles my mom packed for me. Yum! I haven’t had this in a while.. it’s one of the simplest and lightest vegetable dishes my mom used to always make for me. I really love the taste of it especially mixed with salted fish. Justin told me that there’s a dish similar to this in Burmese cuisine. Love it! I like things a bit spicier, so I added some chili powder, but if you’re not a big fan of spice, then you can make this minus the chili oil and the chili powder. BTW, Togeh Goreng is the Indonesian name of this. I don’t know if this is truly an Indonesian dish, but this is what my mom calls it.

Enjoy!

❤ josie

Leave a Reply

