Honey Walnut Shrimp

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup water
  • 2/3 Cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup walnuts
  • 4 egg whites
  • 1 cup cornstarch
  • 1/4 Cup Mayonnaise
  • 1 pound large shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1 tablespoon of condensed milk
  • 1 cup vegetable oil for frying

Instructions

  1. Stir together the water and sugar in a small saucepan. Bring to a boil and add the walnuts. Boil for 2 minutes, then drain and place walnuts on a cookie sheet to dry.

  2. Whip egg whites in a medium bowl until foamy. Stir in the cornstarch until it has a pasty consistency. Heat the oil in a heavy deep skillet over medium-high heat. Dip shrimp into the cornstarch batter, and then fry in the hot oil until golden brown, about 5 minutes. Remove with a slotted spoon and drain on paper towels.
  3. In a medium serving bowl, stir together the mayonnaise, honey and sweetened condensed milk. Add shrimp and toss to coat with the sauce. Sprinkle the candied walnuts on top and serve.

Why hello there! I know it’s been a while since I’ve updated… sooo sorry… I’ve been lazy and actually just uploading pictures of food onto my facebook, instead of blogging about it. (bad josie) And just recently I’ve been scolded by Justin, because he says I’ve been MIA and he doesn’t want to dominate the blog…haha.. so I finally found time to catch up on food blogging— please bear with me, I think there will be a stream of posts to come.

Anyhow, just some background information about this dish, or more like some background information on many of the dishes I’ve made and have posted about here on f00dcoma….

I like to cook and I love to try new recipes. I can’t believe that one year ago, I was burning vegetables in Justin’s apartment—but trust me I’ve come a long way since then. Even at one point in time, I was setting off fire alarms in every person’s apartment wherever I cooked. Yes, I must admit, it was that bad. Le sigh… what can I say? It’s not like I’ve never cooked before at home, but it’s different. Really! Back home, before college, I only cooked with my mom, grandmother, or relatives but under complete supervision. It was pretty hard to mess up scrambled eggs and such. It was not until I moved into my first apartment did I realize that I never absorbed any of the teachings from my family members, and I did quite poorly.

However!!! This past year was a great experience for me. I’ve learned to cook a lot better and even now I have learned how to substitute ingredients when I don’t have things on hand. I’m pretty proud of that. haha.. but i digress

what I really wanted to talk about is that, most of the food I make on f00dcoma is food that Nicole wants. haha.. Whenever Nicole wants me to cook something for her, she finds a recipe and she posts it on my facebook wall. For example, for this recipe, I woke up one morning and was checking my facebook when lo and behold! a message from Nicole..it went a little bit like this:

“This better be ready for lunch by the time I wake up”

oh the pressure! haha.. (it wasn’t ready by lunch btw) but I did make it for dinner that night. Anyhow, the original recipe came from here:

http://allrecipes.com/recipe/honey-walnut-shrimp/detail.aspx

I didn’t have “mochiko” so i substituted with tapioca cornstarch. I was really surprised how good this dish came out! The only thing I would say is that, the shrimp wasn’t as crispy as you would normally get in a restaurant, but that might be because I don’t have a deep fryer and the batter is a bit different with cornstarch.. I don’t know if mochiko could’ve made it crispier—that’s something I’ll have to try later.

Anyhow, please enjoy this recipe.. try it out yourself, it really wasn’t that hard.

❤ josie

Leave a Reply

