Spinach Pasta with White Sauce

 

Spinach Pasta with White Sauce

Ingredients:

  • Trader Joe’s spinach pasta
  • shrimp (optional)
  • 2 tablespoons of butter
  • 1 tablespoon of flour
  • 1 1/2 cup of milk
  • 1/2 mexican cheese blend
  • salt, pepper, garlic salt,

Instructions:

Melt the butter in a sauce pan and whisk in the flour. This will be the base of the sauce, this rue will help thicken your sauce. Pour in the milk and continuously whisk the mixture until the milk has thickened. It should take about 5-10 minutes for the sauce to thicken. Once it has started to thicken, whisk in the cheese and add salt, pepper, and garlic salt to your taste preference. While you’re making the sauce you can also boil the water and cook your pasta until it’s al dente. Remove the pasta and add it in the sauce. Cook the shrimp in the remaining boiling water, then add them to the pasta.(optional)

I’m so happy that Trader Joe’s had their spinach pasta, again. They’ve been sold out on it for a while… and I’ve been craving it. To be honest, I added shrimp instead of chicken, because it was what I had on hand… but I would have preferred it with the chicken. To be honest, the shrimp didn’t mesh well with the rest of the flavors. The spinach pasta had a great flavor to it. Next time if I make this, I’ll definitely use chicken instead of shrimp. I think I’ve gotten pretty good with making my own sauce… nowadays I just eyeball the amounts, depending on how much pasta I’m making. It makes for a great, quick meal.

❤ josie

Leave a Reply

