Corn Chowder Soup

Corn Chowder Soup

Ingredients:

  • one can of Del Monte Sweet Corn Cream style
  • one can of chicken broth
  • 1/2 cup of water
  • 5-6 pieces of fish ball
  • 6-7 shrimp, cut into three parts
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 3 tablespoons of tapioca corn starch, diluted with water
  • 1/4 carton of tofu
  • salt, pepper, chili powder, soy sauce, garlic salt (season to your preference)

So as I was leaving my discussion today, I got a text from Nicole asking me to come back and maker her soup. Since I have a one hour break, that’s just what I did. Usually I would use regular sweet corn, but for some reason we had this cream kind…and I can’t remember why.

So I had to make do what we had.

First I started off with the sweet cream corn. (I tasted it first to see what it was like and boy was it sweet). I added the chicken broth and the water into the pot as well. Afterwards, I added fish ball, shrimp, and tofu. I let the whole thing come up to a boil. Meanwhile, I mixed the tapioca corn starch in a separate bowl with some water. Mix until the corn starch is no longer a solid. You can use any type of corn starch I think, I just happened to have the tapioca one on hand. To be honest, I think I used more than 3 tablespoons, but i’m not sure.. so try to stick with 3 because the soup came out too thick for my taste. Anyway, while mixing the broth, add in the corn starch.. you’ll find that the soup has thickened. Beat 1 egg in a separate bowl. While mixing the soup, slowly add in the egg..you don’t want to add it in all right away, because you’ll get chunks of egg..which is not what you want for this soup. Season the soup to your liking. If I had red vinegar sauce, I would eat this soup with it… because I love the taste of red vinegar in these kinds of soup. However, I don’t. =(

Try this recipe yourself..it’s pretty quick and easy!

❤ josie

Leave a Reply

