Chicken Curry

Chicken Curry

Ingredients:

  • 1 chicken breast
  • 1/2 medium sized onion
  • 1 potato
  • 2 carrots
  • 1/2 packet of box curry mix
  • 3 cups of water

It’s truly been a while since I’ve cooked curry, and I’ve been craving it for a long time. Unfortunately, I don’t have the time, the ingredients, or the knowledge to make the curry from scratch, so I use a box brand. Hey, if you’re crunched on time, and you want a pretty good and hearty, quick meal.. I say take the short cuts.

Depending on your taste and preference, you can change up the ingredients in terms of the amount. You can add more chicken and less potatoes (i had one potato but it was a big one). You could use less carrots or more carrots. You can even go vegetarian if you want!

The curry box had instructions as to how to cook the curry. I kind of digressed from the box a little, because it wanted you to just lightly brown the chicken and the other ingredients and then add water. From past experience, I must say I don’t like doing it this way. Potatoes do take a while to cook and carrots as well.

So to insure that you get softer potatoes and carrots, I suggest doing the following: add a little bit of cooking oil to your pot/pan/wok whatever you’re using. Make sure the pan is hot, before adding in bite sized chicken pieces. I usually season my chicken with salt and pepper. When the chicken is 1/4 cooked through, add the potatoes and let them cook together until the potato is 1/2 cooked, then add the carrots…and then add the onions last. Onions don’t take very long to cook and they’re a lot easier to soften. Once you chicken is almost cooked through then you can add the water. Bring it all to a boil before adding the box curry. Once the curry is added, you’ll find that the curry is watery. No worries. Just let the whole thing simmer on the stove for a good 10 minutes or more, until the sauce thickens to your preference… and then ta-da! You have curry.

I always eat my curry over white rice… the box says you can eat it over pasta (i have never tried this, and I can’t imagine what it would taste like).

If you’re wondering what kind of brand of curry I use, I really like using Kokumaru curry. I think you can find it in any asian supermarket. They might have it at your local grocery stores in the asian isle, but i’m not too sure.. don’t quote me on that.. I’ve never tried looking there.

Anyhow, happy eating!

❤ josie

Leave a Reply

