DSC05550

C&O Trattoria – Marina Del Rey

It’s time to round off my week everyone! I’ll be off to Asia very soon and until I get back, I won’t know if I’ll get a chance to post anything until July. :(

But I’ll be back in a jiffy! No worries :)

So, as I’ve mentioned over the course of this past week, my cousin has been staying with me. On that same day we ate the Poke-Poke, we stopped by my favorite Italian restaurant, C & O Trattoria. After our 2 hour bike ride, we were a bit hungry and I don’t get to eat here very often, since it’s a bit of a trek from where I live, due to LA traffic and what not. I was really craving their amazing garlic bread balls.

These bread balls are crunchy on the outside, but soft and chewy on the inside. They have this nice butter glaze with a ton of garlic flavor. The best thing about these may be the fact that they’re unlimited. So when you come here make sure you… EAT ALL THE GARLIC BREAD BALLS!!! :) (I wish I had a meme attached to that statement..but you get the jist).

My cousin and I both ordered linguine type pastas. I ordered the Linguine Chicken Marsala and he had the Linguine with clams. I’ve had the one with clams before, and I’m not a big fan of it, but he still wanted to try it anyway.

You know, I used to think that chicken alfredo was my favorite pasta, but I think that it’s been dethroned as the favorite. I’ve recently fallen in love with chicken marsala type dishes, and this one definitely did not disappoint! My cousin also preferred my dish to his. As you can see, it comes with a nice big heap of chicken and mushrooms placed over a bed of pasta. Although you might not be able to tell in this picture, the portions are huge in this place. It is definitely meant to be shared, family style. This may just be the individual sized portion, but I was able to share it with my cousin during my meal and then bring the rest home to share with my mom for dinner. I can’t even begin to imagine what their “gargantuan” size is like.

You can definitely taste the sweetness of the wine in the sauce. I think what makes this dish really great is the quality of the wine that they used for the sauce. I also like the fact that the noodles were cooked al dente and that the mushrooms weren’t overcooked. They still had a nice tenderness to them. I also loved the contrast of the chicken and the mushroom with the freshness of the tomatoes. Gah, I wish I had some more right now!

I don’t know why, but I have a bone to pick with the linguine with clams. It was just “okay” for me, to be honest. I don’t know why. Well, maybe a big part of it is the clam flavor. It was really overpowering in this dish. Also, I have this pet peeve about eating clams. Don’t get me wrong, I love clams, but only when they’re prepared correctly. I don’t think they washed the clams properly, because when you bite into a few pieces, you can actually get bites of sand in the clam. This happens when the clams haven’t been soaked in water long enough, to allow the clams to filter out the sand. So, I’m disappointed with the preparation of this.

Actually, I think I’m just not a big fan of seafood and pasta together. It’s just an awkward mix for me. However, there’s a plethora of dishes at C & O that has a lot of substances and depth in their flavors. I am also a fan of the alfredo with sun dried tomatoes.

AH! OMG, my laptop shut off on its own right when I was typing this review up. Thank god for auto save on wordpress. Definitely gave me a mini heart attack. What a way to end the week.

Well, I hope I can post again really soon!

Until then…

Enjoy!

<3 josie

31 Washington Blvd
Marina del Rey, CA 90292

Leave a Reply

